Leave a comment

US vs. UK: Mathematical Terminology

Math with Bad Drawings

I’m an American, born and bred. I revere the 14th Amendment, root for the New England Patriots [dodges rotten fruit], and can rattle off all 44 presidents.

Yet here I find myself, in Birmingham.

Not Alabama. England.

20150514160636_00009

In some ways, it’s not so different. As my friend John advised before I moved: “The British speak English, care about money, and yell about politics. You’ll barely notice you’ve left.” But it’s not quite like home: the spellings, the roundabouts, the big red buses—and, most relevant for a teacher like me, the sometimes startling differences in the ways our two countries educate kids.

In less than a year of teaching, I’ve encountered some surprising disparities, each of which prompts the obvious question: Which way is better, the British or the American?

I have nothing to gain by these comparisons. If I favor America, my judgments will be dismissed as…

View original post 1,412 more words

Leave a Reply

